| |
Oxford Reference Online - Core collection
|
Access
|
Oxford
Reference Online website.
|
|
Coverage
|
Latest
editions
|
|
Subject
|
General
reference, arts, history, business, sciences languages and more.
|
|
Geographic coverage
|
International
|
|
Includes
|
The
Core Collection includes over 100 specialist and general reference
dictionaries.
|
|
Non-electronic version
|
Print editions are
held for some of the titles
|
|
Authentication
|
IP
authentication
|
|
User guide
|
Extensive
help is available on the system.
Access: Launch searches in Oxford Reference Online from anywhere on
the Web easily by highlighting a word on a webpage and clicking on
the icon "Search Oxford Reference" (Which can be downloaded
to your browser toolbar from the ORO website).
URLs are permanent, so it is possible to bookmark individual publications
within the collection for future use.
Searching: There is a variety of search options.
Quick search is liable to return extensive results for common words
but there is an option to initially search within a subject or to
choose to restrict to a certain subject once the number of results
is determined.
Advanced Search allows users to select from a standard search, boolean
search or pattern search; whether to search fulltext, entry headings,
people or dates; and select the subjects or individual titles within
which they wish to search. After a search on part of the collection
has been completed, there is a link to search the entire collection
so it is very easy to broaden the search.
The Crossref feature makes it easy to find the meaning of a word used
in a definition.
When entries are displayed users also have a list of words on either
side of that entry in the dictionary. These words are available as
direct links
Results:
Individual entries can be emailed. There are no special features for
printing or downloading or for emailing several entries at one time.
When an entry is displayed, a note on how to cite the entry is also
displayed.
|
|
Number of users allowed
|
Unlimited
|
|
Publisher
|
Oxford
University Press
|
|
Notes
|
Other
modules are to be released in the future
|
|
|
|
|
Revised:
10-Jul-2007 14:39
:: Content by: Electronic Services Librarian |