UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
University of Wollongong Library
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Skip navigation
Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
 
 
 

AUSCHRON - A Chronology of Australian Historic & Current Events

Access

Informit Access AUSCHRON

Coverage

1992- plus historical material

Subject

Significant events in Australian history with emphasis on current happenings, and covering all topics from politics and law to the arts and sport. With coverage from the earliest Dutch discoveries in the 1600s to the present with particular emphasis on the years 1993 to the present.

Geographic coverage

Australia

Includes

Citations to key sources and background notes on the event. For current events, indexing is from the main daily state and territory papers, chiefly 'The Age' and 'The Australian', and national news journals, reports and other publications where relevant. For historical events, source documents include contemporary records such as explorers' journals and newspapers, together with secondary sources such as books and journal articles.
Each record in AUSCHRON provides essential background notes and references for further investigation.

Non-electronic version

-

Authentication

IP or password authentication

User guide

Truncation: (*) serves as a substitute for any string of zero or more characters at the end of a word, e.g. tax* finds tax, taxes, taxation, taxing. Within a word the asterisk serves as a substitute for one character or no characters. Multiple asterisks may be used to replace up to that number of characters e.g. colo*r finds color or colour and the search dra***t retrieves both "draft" and "draught" Once logged on, select Help for description of the search software. To find out about individual databases, choose Change databases, find the database in the list then click on More information
Tips and Tricks (pdf) - on Informit website

Number of users allowed

Not limited

Publisher

John Adams, MA, DipEd

Notes

AUSCHRON can be searched by date (e.g. 12 October), year or period; by state and region, or by overseas country where relevant; by broad subjects such as Law, Education or Industrial Relations; and by specific keywords as well as by cross-searching. Most entries include background notes with essential details giving context to the event. Sources are provided as verification of the date and event and enable the user to locate useful reading.

 

 

Revised: 23-Jul-2008 13:57 :: Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

 

 
 

University of Wollongong Library
Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548

CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback