Databases by title: Q - Z

 Q
fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext = partial fulltext cd rom = CD-ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link
Title Tips Notes
     

top of page

 R
Image = fulltext partial fulltext = partial fulltext cd rom = CD-ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link
Title Tips Notes
Reef Image Tips

Great Barrier Reef and the activities associated with the Marine Park.Australian.

1982 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Religious Periodicals partial fulltext Image Tips

Mainly Christianity but has material on other faiths. International.

1986 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Proquest

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Image Tips

Musicology & ethnomusicology, music theory, analysis & composition, instruments, performance practice & notation. International.

1836 - present

more information

Ovid.

Routledge Encyclopedia Of Philosophy Online Image Image Tips

Philosophy and related disciplines

Image

Conditions of Use

Routledge Reference

Royal Society of Chemistry Image Image Tips

Chemistry. International

All issues of the available titles

Possible to restrict to the archive or later years

Image

Conditions of use

Royal Society of Chemistry

top of page

 S
fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext = partial fulltext cd rom = CD-ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link
Title Tips Notes
Safari Tech Books Online Image Image Tips

Computing, networks, web, applications, security. books from several key publishers.

Usually latest editions

more information

Conditions of use

Safari Proquest

Sage - Science and geography education Image Tips

Science and more general information. Australian focus

Mid 1980s - present

Image

Conditions of use

Informit

Sage Journals Online  Image Image  Tips

Virtually all journals published by SAGE. This publisher publishes in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

 

International

SAGE

Note: SAGE Journals Online includes the Nursing and Psychology collections which have been available on the CSA platform. These are still available on the CSA platform as well as on the SAGE platform

SAI Global fulltext icon Image
Tips

Standards of Standards Australia plus index to standards of other bodies. Australian.

Current and draft standards.

International standards may be unlocked and made available.

Preferred browser Internet Explorer

more information

Conditions of use

Standards Australia website.

SCANfile Image Tips

Science and technology policy, R&D management, social and economic issues of R&D. Australian focus.

1973 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

ScienceDirect Image Image Tips

Life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. International.

1995 - present, some earlier

more information

Conditions of use

ScienceDirect website

SciFinder Scholar / Chemical Abstracts

Web version access (once you have registered) 

Tips

Chemistry and many other science and technology applications.

International.

1907 - present

Now available, Scifinder Scholar Web version. 

Please email ngrant@uow.edu.au for registration details. The link previously here has been removed temporarily. Please accept our apologies

Note: Web version uses secure http. This can cause security certificate warnings when using IE because the University's generic security certificate can appear as a mismatch with the EZproxy server. It is OK to use the link that states "Continue to this website (not recommended)." 

Users who are using an IE browser will be able to get ready access if they uncheck the option to "Warn about certificate address mismatch". This warning is designed to alert users that the security certificate presented by this website was issued for a different website’s address. In this instance, it is because the University uses generic security certificates so they do not exactly match the servers the traffic is coming from and so cause the error message.  Go into: Tools->Internet Options->Advanced->”Warn about certificate address mismatch” uncheck the box and restart your browser. You might like to revert to having the warning once you have finished using Scifinder Scholar.

When using reaction or substance search problems will be encountered if you do not have the Java 6 installed.  More information about browsers and Java requirements

more information

CAS Website

Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource (Sniper) Image Tips

Intellectual property

Australian

2000 - present

Image

Conditions of use

Informit

Serials in Australian Libraries (SIAL) Image Tips

Directory of serials located in Australian libraries

Image

Conditions of use

Informit

Snapshot series Image Image Tips

International market research overviews by industry within within regions and countries.

Conditions of use

Proquest

Sociological Abstracts Image Tips

Sociology and related disciplines. International.

1952 - present Records after 1974 include abstracts

more information

Conditions of use

CSA.

The Source Image  

Children's literature by subject. Australian emphasis

Magpies Magazine

SourceOECD  ImageImage Tips

OECD documents with emphasis on country comparison, periodicals, working papers, statistics, International Energy Agency statistics

Image

Conditions of use

Source OECD Website

SportsDiscus Image Tips

Sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness. International.

1800 - present

more information

EbscoHost

Springerlink Image Image Tips

Journal of the publisher Springer-Verlag. International with strengths in Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical & Life Sciences, Business & Economics, Chemistry & Material Science, Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences & Law, Mathematics, Medicine, and Physics & Astronomy.

Dates vary

Image

Conditions of use

Springerlink

Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater     

All aspects of water and wastewater analysis techniques.

Latest edition

Standard Methods website

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Image Image  

Philosophy. Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts.

Metaphysics Research Lab

Stanford University

Stats OECD

Image Image

  A platform for the provision and manipulation of OECD statistics

International

OECD
Sydney Morning Herald Archives      

Full content of The Sydney Morning Herald

1955 - 1990

Fairfax Media

Note: Click on "Access archive"

top of page

 T
fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext = partial fulltext cd rom = CD-ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link
Title Tips Notes

Taylor and Francis

see

Informaworld

   
THESES Image Tips

Theses submitted to the University of Singapore (NUS)

1947 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Threatened Species in Australia: A Select Bibliography (ENDANGER) Image Tips

Threatened flora and fauna. Australian.

1960 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Times Digital Archive Image  Image Tips

Provides access to the digital images of every page of The Times (London). International with British focus.

1785-1985

Image

Conditions of use

Gale InfoTrac

Treatise on Geochemistry Image Image

 

Tips

Geochemistry

Image

Conditions of use

ScienceDirect website

top of page

 U
fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext = partial fulltext cd rom = CD-ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link
Title Tips Notes
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Image Tips

An authoritative knowledgebase of information about more than 300,000 serials from around the world including academic and scholarly journals, peer-reviewed titles, newspapers and other serials in all subject areas. International.

Current

more information

Proquest.

top of page

 V
fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext = partial fulltext cd rom = CD-ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link
Title Tips Notes
Victorian Audit Library Information Service Database (VALISE) Image Tips

Auditing; internal auditing; public finance; public administration; selected articles on business, politics and economic conditions as they relate to public affairs. Australian.

1988 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

top of page

 W
fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext = partial fulltext cd rom = CD-ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link
Title Tips Notes
Web of Knowledge Image Tips

Portal for Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, JCR Web

Dates vary for each database

more information

Conditions of use

ISI Web of Knowledge

Web of Science Image Tips

Citation indexes, which allow searching by cited references. Science Citation Index, Social Science citation Index 1965 - present, Arts and Humanities Citation Index. 1975 - present

more information

Conditions of use

ISI Web of Knowledge

Weldasearch Image Tips

Welding and allied processes

1967 - present

International

Image

Conditions of use

CSA

Westlaw Image Image

 

Tips

Law. Case law, legislation, regulations

International

If popup message appears, click continue

Image

Conditions of use

Westlaw

Wiley Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Engineering   Tips

Computer science and engineering, including artificial intelligence, software systems, computer architecture, systems, theory and applications

International

Conditions of use

Wiley

Wiley Interscience fulltext icon Image Tips

Journals published by Wiley, including sciences, life sciences, technology, business and finance and behavioural sciences. International.

Dates vary according to title

more information

Conditions of use

Wiley

Wilson Art Abstracts Image

  

Tips

Art. International.

1984 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Ovid.

World Ceramics Abstracts Image Tips

Manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics. International

1975 - present

Image

Conditions of use

CSA

World Development Indicators     

World Bank's comprehensive database on development data, covering more than 700 indicators, 208 economies, and 18 regional and income groups. Includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years.

 1960 - present, where data are available

World Bank

World of Learning    Tips

Global institutions of higher education and learning - Directory information

Continually updated

Image

Conditions of Use

Routledge Reference

World Who's Who     

Famous and influential contemporaries from around the globe.

Conditions of Use

Routledge Reference

Worldcat Image Tips

Bibliographic records and library locations for books, journals and other published works.

Image

Worldcat website

top of page

 X
fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext = partial fulltext cd rom = CD-ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link
Title Tips Notes
     

top of page

 Y
fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext = partial fulltext cd rom = CD-ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link
Title Tips Notes
     

top of page

 Z
fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext = partial fulltext cd rom = CD-ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link
Title Tips Notes
     

top of page

 

Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

Last reviewed: 13 November, 2009

       

Library sticky region image

Follow Me Printing

Everyone hates to queue. With this in mind, we have introduced Follow Me Printing. You can choose any free printer/copier in the Library or a printer in the Student Central labs to release your print job.

How does it work?