Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
Databases for Wollongong College Australia
Databases provide access to journal and newspaper articles. They may also include other information sources such as electronic books, statistics or company information.
- Databases to try first - databases that include many topic areas
- Other relevant databases - more databases on specific topic areas
- Databases by Faculty - select the faculty appropriate to your assignment, Diploma or Degree for a complete list of databases
| Databases to try first | ||
|---|---|---|
| Title | Tips | Notes |
| Australian Public Affairs - full text APAFT |
Tips |
Business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. Australian coverage. Index 1978 - present Fulltext 1995 - present Database search system: Informit Need help? Try this animated search which uses a sample assignment question |
| Emerald Fulltext |
Tips |
Management, human resource management, economics, marketing, logistics, training and education International coverage Indexing 1989 fulltext 1994 - present Database search system: Emerald website Need help? Try this database guide. |
| Expanded Academic ASAP |
Tips |
This database has information in most topic areas. International coverage. 1980 - present Database search system: Gale InfoTrac Need help? Try this database guide. |
| Proquest Central |
Tips |
This database has information in most topic areas. International coverage. Various dates Database search system: Proquest. Need help?: Try this animated search which uses a sample assignment question |
| ScienceDirect |
Tips |
Social sciences, life, physical, medical and technical sciences. International coverage. 1995 - present, some earlier Database search system: ScienceDirect website Need help? Try this animated search using a sample assignment question. |
| Other relevant databases | ||
|---|---|---|
| Title | Tips | Notes |
| A + Education |
Tips |
Education and related fields, including curriculum, educational research, information science, librarianship, management, policy administration, psychology, sociology, teaching and training. Australian coverage. This is Australian Education Index with selected fulltext added Fulltext 2000 - present Index 1978 - present Database search system: Informit Need help? Try this animated search which uses a sample assignment question |
| AGIS Plus Text |
Tips |
Law, including administrative law, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright, criminal law, environmental law, family law. Australian coverage Indexing 1975 - present Fulltext 1999 - present Database search system: Informit Need help? Try this animated search which uses a sample assignment question |
| Australian Bureau of Statistics |
Tips |
Statistical data of Australia, the States and smaller regions. ABS' full standard product range on-line. Australian coverage. publications 1988 - present, with older time series This is a free site but there are some conditions of use specified on the ABS website Database search system: ABS website |
| Cambridge Journals Online |
Tips |
Sciences, social sciences, and humanities International coverage Database search system : Cambridge journals website |
| Computer Database |
Tips |
Computer related news and product reviews. International coverage Current year to date plus previous three years Database search system: Gale InfoTrac. |
|
Database on English Language Teaching for Adults in Australasia (DELTAA) |
Tips |
English as a second language study and teaching. Australian coverage. 1985 - present Database search system: Informit |
| E-library |
Tips |
Informit e-Library provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. Australian coverage Database search system: Informit |
| Encyclopaedia Britannica Online |
Tips |
General information, Information in most topic areas International coverage Frequent updates Database search system: Britannica Online |
|
|
Tips |
Education. International coverage. Dates vary
Database search system: Proquest |
|
|
Tips |
Newspaper and company information Dates vary Database search system: Factiva Preferred browser Internet Explorer v. 5.5+, Firefox (Windows) and Safari (Macintosh). The site uses secure http. The certificate on the Library's EZproxy server can cause an error. If you are warned about a security error and recommended not to proceed it is OK to do so in this instance. It is possible with IE browsers to turn off the warning about certificate mismatches but it can be a valid warning, so take this option with care. |
Family and Society Plus |
Tips |
Issues about, or of relevance to families. Australian coverage Fulltext 2000 - present. Index 1980 - present This is Family database with selected fulltext added Database search system: Informit |
| Informaworld |
Tips |
Over 1000 journals in many disciplines. Strengths in Social Sciences and Humanities. International.
|
| OneSource Global Business Browser - Asia Pacific edition | Tips |
Very extensive industry and company resource International, global not just Asia Pacific More information |
| Oxford Art Online |
Tips |
Art in all periods and areas. Art forms, styles and movements, civilisations and cultures, subject matters and materials. International coverage 1998 plus regular updates and additions Database search system: Grove |
| Oxford Reference Online |
Tips |
General reference, arts, history, business, sciences languages. Fulltext of dictionaries and other reference books. International coverage Various dates Database search system: Oxford. |
| Safari Tech Books Online |
Tips |
Computing, networks, web, applications, security. books from several key publishers. Usually latest editions Database search system: Safari |
|
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory |
Tips |
Information about journals e.g. whether a journal is academic or popular Note: this database is not used to find journal articles by topic. International coverage
Database search system: Bowkers. Need help? Try this database guide. |
Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

Follow Me Printing
Everyone hates to queue. With this in mind, we have introduced Follow Me Printing. You can choose any free printer/copier in the Library or a printer in the Student Central labs to release your print job.
How does it work?

