Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
Databases for Law
- Databases to try first
- Other relevant databases
- Print indexes
- Additional databases for researchers
- Database passwords
- Database tips
| Databases to try first | ||
|---|---|---|
| Title | Tips | Notes |
Academic Onefile |
Tips |
The physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. International 1980 - present
Gale |
| AGIS Plus Text |
Tips |
Law, including administrative law, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright, criminal law, environmental law, family law. Australian. Indexing 1975 - present Fulltext 1999 - present Informit |
| AUSTLII |
Tips |
Law, legislation and case law. Australia. Commonwealth and state jurisdictions plus New Zealand and South Pacific. Starting dates vary AustLII website. |
| Australian Public Affairs - full text APAFT |
Tips |
Business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. APAIS with some fulltext. Australian. Index 1978 - present Fulltext 1995 - present Informit |
|
|
|
Sciences, social sciences, and humanities Cambridge journals website |
| CCH Online |
Tips |
Law. Fulltext access to UOW subscriptions only. Australian. Availability dates vary CCH website |
| CINCH |
Tips |
Criminal law and justice. Australian. 1968 - present Informit. |
|
|
Tips
|
Australian Federal legislation. Acts, bills, regulations etc. Australian Includes repealed and current legislation. This site will be replacing Scaleplus Attorney-General's Department website |
Conference Proceedings Citation Index ![]() |
Tips | Conference papers and citations. Choose Science or Social Science and Humanities 1991- present ![]() Conditions of use Thomson Reuters |
| Criminal Justice Periodicals |
Tips |
U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. Proquest. |
| Environmental Law Reporter |
Case summaries from Australian courts and tribunals in areas of planning, local government and environmental law.
|
|
| Expanded Academic ASAP |
Tips |
General Database with information in arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. International. 1980 - present Gale InfoTrac |
|
|
Tips
|
Academic law journal Australian Also available on Hein Online, with embargo and AGIS |
|
|
|
Law journals and reports, U.S. focus Archive collection, from first publication date Hein |
| Index to Legal Periodicals | Tips |
Law journal literature. 1978 - current Included in LexisNexis |
|
|
|
Law Institute web page Password required |
|
|
|
Law Society of NSW Web Page Password required - password does not provide full member access |
| LAWLEX |
Tips |
Law, Hansard, bills explanatory memoranda. Australia. Dates vary Lawlex |
| Legal Online Formerly Lawbook online |
Tips |
Case law and commentary. Australian. Availability dates vary Recommended browser: IE LawbookCo.com |
| Legal Resource Index |
Tips |
Law. International 1977- present Included in LexisNexis. See notes with Lexis.com relating to access problems |
LegalTrac |
Tips |
Major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. 1980 - present
Gale |
| Lexis.com Lexis.com From on campus (uses quota) |
Tips |
Legal resources. International law. Various dates We have problems accessing Lexis.com through our EZproxy server, which provides off-campus access and also is quota free. We have provided another link for on campus users. Off campus users who are using an IE browser will be able to get ready access if they uncheck the option to "Warn about certificate address mismatch". This warning is designed to alert users that the security certificate presented by this website was issued for a different website’s address. In this instance, it is because the University uses generic security certificates so they do not exactly match the servers the traffic is coming from and so cause the error message. Consider using another browser or go into: Tools->Internet Options->Advanced->”Warn about certificate address mismatch” uncheck the box and restart your browser. You might like to revert to having the warning once you have finished using Lexis.com Lexis |
| LexisNexis AU |
Tips |
Law including administrative, corporate, family, intellectual property,civil and industrial law. Australian. Current Recommended browser: IE Conditions of use - Please see distinction between academic and non-academic use LexisNexis AU |
|
|
|
NSW legislation in force, both Acts and statutory instruments Historical versions of NSW legislation, from 1 January 2002, and earlier versions of selected titles An archival collection of NSW legislation as made since 1990-the As Made database |
Proquest Central |
Tips |
Information in most topic areas. Several databases which may be searched either individually or in combinations. International. Various dates Proquest.
|
| Web of Knowledge |
Tips |
Portal for Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, JCR Web Dates vary for each database ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Web of Science |
Tips |
Citation indexes, which allow searching by cited references. Science Citation Index, Social Science citation Index 1965 - present, Arts and Humanities Citation Index. 1975 - present ISI Web of Knowledge |
|
|
Tips |
Law. Case law, legislation, regulations International If popup message appears, click continue Westlaw |
| Other relevant databases | ||
|---|---|---|
| Title | Tips | Notes |
| AIM Management & Training (AIMMAT) |
Tips |
Management, training, human resources, communication and marketing. Australian. 1991 - present Informit |
| Australian Accounting & Taxation Database (AATD) |
Tips |
Accounting, auditing, taxation, insolvency, financial management, corporation law. Australian. 1982 - present Informit |
| Australian Bureau of Statistics |
Tips |
Statistical data of Australia, the States and smaller regions. ABS' full standard product range on-line. Australian. publications 1988 - present, with older time series This is a free site but there are some conditions of use specified on the ABS website ABS website |
| Australian Criminology Database (CINCH) |
Tips |
Criminal law and justice. Australian. 1968 - present Informit |
| Australian Federal Police Digest (AFPD) |
Tips |
Policing, criminology, law enforcement, law. Australian. 1991 - present Informit |
| Australian Industrial Relations Database (IREL) |
Tips |
Industrial conflict, wages and conditions, labour market economics, equal employment opportunity, labour law, occupational health and safety, workplace reform. Australian. 1983 - 2000 Informit |
| CINCH-ATSIS |
Tips |
Involvement of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in the justice system. Subset of Cinch. Australian. 1968 - present Informit. |
| Computer Database |
Tips |
Computer related news and product reviews. International. Current year to date plus previous three years Gale InfoTrac. |
| Current Contents Connect |
Tips |
Current information in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, technology and medical science. International. ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Factiva |
Tips |
Newspaper and company information Factiva Preferred browser Internet Explorer v. 5.5+, Firefox (Windows) and Safari (Macintosh). The site uses secure http. The certificate on the Library's EZproxy server can cause an error. If you are warned about a security error and recommended not to proceed it is OK to do so in this instance. It is possible with IE browsers to turn off the warning about certificate mismatches but it can be a valid warning, so take this option with care. |
|
|
|
Issues about, or of relevance to families. Australia. Fulltext 2000 - present. Index 1980 - present This is Family database with selected fulltext added Informit |
| Giblin Working Papers Database (GIBLIN) |
Tips |
Working papers in economics, finance, accounting, banking, international trade, management, marketing and employee relations.Mainly Australia, Europe and the U.S.A. Current five years Informit |
| Informaworld |
Tips |
Over 1000 journals in many disciplines. Strengths in Social Sciences and Humanities. International. |
| International Taxation Issues Database (INTAX) |
Tips |
International aspects of taxation. Australian focus. 1990 - present Informit |
| Management and Environment Information (MEDGE) |
Tips |
Major corporations, international economy, Australian economy and government policy. Australian focus. 1985 - present Informit |
| Oxford Online Journals |
Tips |
Sciences, social sciences and humanities Oxford |
| Philosopher's Index |
Tips |
Philosophy and related fields. International. 1940 - present Ovid. |
| SCANfile |
Tips |
Science and technology policy, R&D management, social and economic issues of R&D. Australian focus. 1973 - present Informit |
| ScienceDirect |
Tips |
Life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. International. 1995 - present, some earlier ScienceDirect website |
|
Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource (Sniper)
|
|
Intellectual property Australian 2000 - present Informit |
| Sociological Abstracts |
Tips |
Sociology and related disciplines. International. 1963 - present Records after 1974 include abstracts CSA. |
| TAXABS |
Tips |
Tax technical information, including accounting, auditing, business, capital gains tax, fringe benefits tax, goods and services tax, international tax, law, superannuation, taxation rulings and tax administration. Australian. 1992 - present Informit |
| Victorian Audit Library Information Service Database (VALISE) |
Tips |
Auditing; internal auditing; public finance; public administration; selected articles on business, politics and economic conditions as they relate to public affairs. Australian. 1988 - present Informit |
| Wiley Interscience |
Tips |
Journals published by Wiley, including sciences, life sciences, technology, business and finance and behavioural sciences. International. Dates vary according to title Wiley |
| WORKLIT |
Tips |
Labour economics, policy and legislation, workplace reform, employment. Australian. 1907 - present Informit |
Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

Follow Me Printing
Everyone hates to queue. With this in mind, we have introduced Follow Me Printing. You can choose any free printer/copier in the Library or a printer in the Student Central labs to release your print job.
How does it work?


