Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
Databases for Informatics
- Databases to try first
- Other relevant databases
- Additional databases for researchers
- Database passwords
- Database tips
| Databases to try first | ||
|---|---|---|
| Title | Tips | Notes |
Academic Onefile |
Tips |
The physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. International 1980 - present
Gale |
| ACM Digital Library |
Tips |
Computing, information technology, networking, artificial intelligence and human-machine interaction. International. 1985 - present ACM Portal |
Business & Company ASAP |
Tips |
Companies, markets and industries; market trends, mergers and acquisitions, management theory and company overviews. International 1980 - present
Gale |
Business Source Premier ![]() |
Tips |
Business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. EBSCOhost |
| Cambridge Journals Online |
Tips |
Sciences, social sciences, and humanities Cambridge journals website |
| Compendex |
Tips |
Engineering and technology. International. 1969 - present Engineering Village website |
| Computer Database |
Tips |
Computer related news and product reviews. International. Current year to date plus previous three years Gale InfoTrac. |
Conference Proceedings Citation Index ![]() |
Tips | Conference papers and citations. Choose Science or Social Science and Humanities 1991- present ![]() Conditions of use Thomson Reuters |
| Current Index to Statistics |
Tips |
Mathematical statistics. International. 1975 - present. Pre-1975 coverage for some. CIS website |
| ENGINE |
Tips |
All branches of engineering. Australian. 1980 - present Informit |
| Expanded Academic ASAP |
Tips |
General Database with information in arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. International. 1980 - present Gale InfoTrac |
| IEEExplore |
Tips |
Electrical and electronic engineering. International. 1988 - present IEEExplore website |
| Informaworld |
Tips |
Over 1000 journals in many disciplines. Strengths in Social Sciences and Humanities. International. |
| Inspec |
Tips |
Physics, electrical engineering, electronics,communications, information technology. International. 1969 - present Ovid |
Institute of Physics - Journals |
Physics and its subdisciplines, such as quantum physics, superconductors, semiconductors, nanotechnology and astrophysics and nuclear physics. First volumes to present IOP website |
|
| Lecture Notes in Computer Science |
Tips |
LNCS covers new developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching. 1997 - present SpringerLink |
| Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts |
Librarianship, Information Science. International Mid 1960s - present Free database Ebsco |
|
| MathSciNet |
Tips |
Mathematics. International. 1940 - present MathsciNet website. |
OneSource Global Business Browser - G4 ![]() |
Tips |
Very extensive industry and company resource International, global not just Asia Pacific More information |
| Proquest Asian Business & Reference |
Tips |
Detailed information on companies, economies, markets and overall business conditions, news and current awareness, country information, cultural, government and biographical information relating to Asia. A greatly expanded resource Proquest |
| Proquest Central |
Tips |
Information in most topic areas. Several databases which may be searched either individually or in combinations. International. Various dates Proquest.
|
| Proquest Computing |
Tips |
Product reviews, database design and management, software development strategies, web commerce, networks. International. 1986 - present Proquest. |
| Safari Tech Books Online |
Tips |
Computing, networks, web, applications, security. books from several key publishers. Usually latest editions Safari Proquest |
Sage Journals Online ![]() ![]() |
Tips |
Virtually all journals published by SAGE. This publisher publishes in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. International SAGE Note: SAGE Journals Online includes the Nursing and Psychology collections which have been available on the CSA platform. These are still available on the CSA platform as well as on the SAGE platform |
| ScienceDirect |
Tips |
Life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. International. 1995 - present, some earlier ScienceDirect website |
| Springerlink |
Tips |
Journal of the publisher Springer-Verlag. International with strengths in Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical & Life Sciences, Business & Economics, Chemistry & Material Science, Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences & Law, Mathematics, Medicine, and Physics & Astronomy. Dates vary Springerlink |
| Web of Knowledge |
Tips |
Portal for Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, JCR Web Dates vary for each database ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Web of Science |
Tips |
Citation indexes, which allow searching by cited references. Science Citation Index, Social Science citation Index 1965 - present, Arts and Humanities Citation Index. 1975 - present ISI Web of Knowledge |
Wiley Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Engineering |
Tips |
Computer science and engineering, including artificial intelligence, software systems, computer architecture, systems, theory and applications International
Wiley |
| Wiley Interscience |
Tips |
Journals published by Wiley, including sciences, life sciences, technology, business and finance and behavioural sciences. International. Dates vary according to title Wiley |
| Other relevant databases | ||
|---|---|---|
| Title | Tips | Notes |
| ABI/Inform Global |
Tips |
Business, management, including accounting, taxation, banking, labor relations, marketing & advertising, human resources. International. Dates vary Also available: ABI/Inform Trade and Industry or ABI/Inform Dateline Proquest |
| AUSTLII |
Tips |
Law, legislation and case law. Australia. Commonwealth and state jurisdictions plus New Zealand and South Pacific. Starting dates vary AustLII website. |
| Australian Bureau of Statistics |
Tips |
Statistical data of Australia, the States and smaller regions. ABS' full standard product range on-line. Australian. publications 1988 - present, with older time series This is a free site but there are some conditions of use specified on the ABS website ABS website |
| Australian Public Affairs - full text APAFT |
Tips |
Business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. APAIS with some fulltext. Australian. Index 1978 - present Fulltext 1995 - present Informit |
| Computer Index Australasia (CIA) |
Tips |
Popular computing. Australian. 1994 - 2001 Informit |
| Current Contents Connect |
Tips |
Current information in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, technology and medical science. International. ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Emerald Fulltext |
Tips |
Management, economics, marketing, logistics, training and education. International Indexing 1989 fulltext 1994 - present Emerald website |
| Factiva |
Tips |
Newspaper and company information Factiva Preferred browser Internet Explorer v. 5.5+, Firefox (Windows) and Safari (Macintosh). The site uses secure http. The certificate on the Library's EZproxy server can cause an error. If you are warned about a security error and recommended not to proceed it is OK to do so in this instance. It is possible with IE browsers to turn off the warning about certificate mismatches but it can be a valid warning, so take this option with care. |
Optics Encyclopedia |
Tips |
Classical optics plus latest applications, including optical sensing and metrology, biomedicine, optical components and systems International
Wiley |
| SAI Global |
Tips |
Standards of Standards Australia plus index to standards of other bodies. Australian. Current and draft standards. International standards may be unlocked and made available. Preferred browser Internet Explorer Standards Australia website. |
| SCANfile |
Tips |
Science and technology policy, R&D management, social and economic issues of R&D. Australian focus. 1973 - present Informit |
SourceOECD |
Tips |
OECD documents with emphasis on country comparison, periodicals, working papers, statistics, International Energy Agency statistics Source OECD Website |
Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

Follow Me Printing
Everyone hates to queue. With this in mind, we have introduced Follow Me Printing. You can choose any free printer/copier in the Library or a printer in the Student Central labs to release your print job.
How does it work?

