Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
Databases for Health & Behavioural Sciences
- Databases to try first
- Other relevant databases
- Additional databases for researchers
- Database passwords
- Database tips
| Databases to try first | ||
|---|---|---|
| Title | Tips | Notes |
| Annual Reviews |
Tips |
Sciences and social sciences Annual reviews |
| Australian Bureau of Statistics |
Tips |
Statistical data of Australia, the States and smaller regions. ABS' full standard product range on-line. Australian. publications 1988 - present, with older time series This is a free site but there are some conditions of use specified on the ABS website ABS website |
| Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH) |
Tips |
Covers most drugs marketed in Australia. The AMH is for information purposes only and is designed as a general drug and therapeutic information reference for healthcare professionals and students in Australia. Current AMH Pty. Ltd. |
| Australian Public Affairs - full text APAFT |
Tips |
Business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. APAIS with some fulltext. Australian. Index 1978 - present Fulltext 1995 - present Informit |
| Australian Sport Database (AUSPORT) |
Tips |
Australian sport including administration, children, coaching, disabled, economics, facilities, history, medicine, nutrition, physiology, psychology. Australian. 1989 - present Informit |
| Biomed Central |
Tips |
Over 100 Open Access journals covering all areas of Biology and Medicine Conditions of use (word file) Biomed Central website |
| Cambridge Journals Online |
Tips |
Sciences, social sciences, and humanities Cambridge journals website |
|
|
Tips |
Nursing and allied health. International. 1981 - present EbscoHOST |
| Cochrane - All |
Tips |
Evidence- based medicine. Clinical medicine, trials Clinical medicine, systematic reviews. Inernational Ovid. |
| Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews |
Tips |
Clinical medicine, systematic reviews. International. 1991 - present Ovid |
| Cochrane Library |
Tips |
Clinical medicine, systematic reviews. International. Current Alternative access for anybody based in Australia. This service is on the Wiley Interscience site. The link provided here will allow you to access Cochrane using EZproxy. If you use the link to the Wiley Interscience home page and then go to Cochrane you will lose the EZproxy connection and use will affect quota. |
| Dissertations Abstracts |
Tips |
Thesis citations with abstracts. International. 1861 to present Recent years may have 24 page preview. Option to order Proquest. |
| Evidence-Based Resources from the Joanna Briggs Institute |
Tips |
Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets for nursing and the allied health professions Proquest.
|
| Expanded Academic ASAP |
Tips |
General Database with information in arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. International. 1980 - present Gale InfoTrac |
| Factiva |
Tips |
Newspaper and company information Factiva Preferred browser Internet Explorer v. 5.5+, Firefox (Windows) and Safari (Macintosh) The site uses secure http. The certificate on the Library's EZproxy server can cause an error. If you are warned about a security error and recommended not to proceed it is OK to do so in this instance. It is possible with IE browsers to turn off the warning about certificate mismatches but it can be a valid warning, so take this option with care. |
| Health Reference Center - Academic |
Tips |
Health information for nursing, public health, nutrition, psychology. International. Current year plus previous four years Gale InfoTrac |
| Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection |
Tips |
Nursing and nursing related health issues. International Dates vary
Sage |
| Informaworld |
Tips |
Over 1000 journals in many disciplines. Strengths in Social Sciences and Humanities. International. |
| International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences |
Tips |
Social and behavioural sciences and related areas International ScienceDirect |
| Lexis.com |
Tips |
Legal resources. International law. Various dates Lexis |
Liebert Online |
Electronic Journals in Lifesciences, Medicine, Law, Psychology, Engineering, Biotechnology, Informatics Dates vary but most start 2000, with some earlier
Mary Liebert Inc. |
|
| MDConsult |
Tips |
Medical developments and clinical information Premium on current information MDConsult website |
| Meditext |
Tips |
Health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. Australian. Fulltext 1996- Indexing 1968- Informit |
|
Premedline - In-process records
|
Tips |
Medicine. Anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology and health care. International. 1950 - present, in several files Ovid |
| MIMS Online |
Tips |
Pharmaceutical database with information about prescription and non-prescription drugs. Australian Current Health Communication Network (HCN) |
| Nature Journals Online |
Tips |
Science research. International Nature Publishing Group Please consult the Info link for subscribed titles and their links. Individual titles also listed in the Library catalogue |
| Nursing and Allied Health Source |
Tips |
Nursing journals, systematic reviews and evidence based summaries, includes the following databases as a search set: Proquest. |
| Nursing Resource Center |
Tips |
Encyclopedia articles giving disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the encyclopedia texts. |
OTseeker ![]() |
Occupational therapy - systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials. |
|
| Ovid classroom | Tips | Used for instructional purposes only, for classes with Library staff |
| PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database |
Randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy |
|
| POPLINE |
Tips |
Reproductive health, population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE website |
| Proquest Family Health |
Tips |
full-text information from covering numerous aspects of family health from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. Proquest.
|
| Proquest Central |
Tips |
Information in most topic areas. Several databases which may be searched either individually or in combinations. This has everything previously included in Proquest 500 plus more material. International. Various dates Proquest. |
| Proquest Nursing and Allied Health Source |
Tips |
Nursing journals and guidelines, includes the following databases as a search set: Proquest. |
| Proquest Psychology Journals | Tips |
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Also includes 4,000 full text dissertations representing a range of psychology disciplines including behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, personality, physiological, psychobiology, psychometrics and social psychology. Dissertation content is available for the years spanning 2000 through 2005. Proquest.
|
| PsycArticles |
Tips |
Psychology. Journals of American Psychological Association. International Ovid |
| PsycBOOKS |
Tips |
Psychology books. International 1806 - present Ovid |
| PsycCRITIQUES |
Tips |
Reviews of books and films about psychology an related disciplines. International Ovid |
| Psycinfo 1806- , 1967- , 1985- |
Tips |
Psychology and related disciplines. International. 1806 - present Ovid |
| Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection |
Tips |
Psychology and related disciplines from the publisher SAGE and participating societies. International 1941 - present Sage |
Sage Journals Online ![]() |
Tips |
Virtually all journals published by SAGE. This publisher publishes in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. International SAGE Note: SAGE Journals Online includes the Nursing and Psychology collections which have been available on the CSA platform. These are still available on the CSA platform as well as on the SAGE platform |
| ScienceDirect |
Tips |
Life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. International. 1995 - present, some earlier ScienceDirect website |
| Sociological Abstracts |
Tips |
Sociology and related disciplines. International. 1952 - present Records after 1974 include abstracts CSA. |
| SportsDiscus |
Tips |
Sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness. International. 1800 - present EbscoHOST |
| Springerlink |
Tips |
Journal of the publisher Springer-Verlag. International with strengths in Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical & Life Sciences, Business & Economics, Chemistry & Material Science, Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences & Law, Mathematics, Medicine, and Physics & Astronomy. Dates vary Springerlink |
| Wiley Interscience |
Tips |
Journals published by Wiley, including sciences, life sciences, technology, business and finance and behavioural sciences. International. Dates vary according to title Wiley |
| Other relevant databases | ||
|---|---|---|
| Title | Tips | Notes |
| A + Education |
Tips |
Education and related fields, including curriculum, educational research, information science, librarianship, management, policy administration, psychology, sociology, teaching and training. Australian. This is Australian Education Index with selected fulltext added Fulltext 2000 - present Index 1978 - present Informit |
| Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Bibliography (ATSIhealth) |
Tips |
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health. Australian. 1988 - present Informit |
| Attorney-General's Information Service (AGIS) Plus Text |
Tips |
Law, including administrative law, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright, criminal law, environmental law, family law. Australian. Indexing 1975 - present Fulltext 1999 - present Informit |
| AUSTGUIDE |
Tips |
General and educational. Australian focus. 1986 - present Informit |
| AUSTLII |
Tips |
Law, legislation and case law. Australia. Commonwealth and state jurisdictions plus New Zealand and South Pacific. Starting dates vary AustLII website. |
| Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Information (ANSTI) |
Tips |
Nuclear science research and development, with special emphasis on its peaceful applications. Australian. 1970 - present Informit |
| Biological Abstracts |
Tips |
Biological and medical research. Clinical studies, new organisms. agriculture biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. International. 1969- 2003 Access to later material is available through Biosis Previews Ovid |
| Biosis Previews |
Tips |
Biological and medical research. Clinical studies, new organisms. agriculture biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. International. 2002 - Access to earlier material is through Biological Abstracts Ovid |
| CINCH-Health |
Tips |
Criminal law and justice relating to health. Australian. 1968 - present Informit |
| CLIB2001, CLIB96 & CLIB91 |
Tips | Statistics from Australian Bureau of Statistics. Stand alone CD ROM ask at Research Help. |
Conference Proceedings Citation Index ![]() |
Tips | Conference papers and citations. Choose Science or Social Science and Humanities 1991- present ![]() Conditions of use Thomson Reuters |
| Consumer Sciences Index (CSI) |
Tips |
Consumer economics. Australian. 1988 - 2001 Informit |
| Current Contents Connect |
Tips |
Current information in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, technology and medical science. International. ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Dictionary of Drugs |
Tips |
Drugs and pharmacological agents. International. Dates vary Chapman and Hall/CRC |
| Dictionary of Natural Products |
Tips |
Naturally occuring chemicals. International. Dates vary Chapman and Hall/CRC |
| Drug Database (DRUG) |
Tips |
Substance abuse. Australian. 1974 - present Informit |
| EBM Reviews - ACP Journal Club |
Tips |
Evidence- based medicine. International. 1991 - present Ovid |
| EBM Reviews - All |
Tips |
Evidence- based medicine. Clinical medicine, trials Clinical medicine, systematic reviews. Inernational Ovid. |
| EBM Reviews - Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials |
Tips |
Clinical medicine, trials. International. Not date limited
Ovid |
| EBM Reviews - Dare |
Tips |
Clinical medicine, systematic reviews. International. Date is latest update for whole database Ovid |
| Encyclopedia of Life Sciences |
Tips |
Biochemistry, biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, immunology, history of life sciences. International. Published 2001 with continual updates Wiley |
| ERIC |
Tips |
Education. International. 1966 - present Ovid |
| ERIC |
Tips |
Education. International. Dates vary
Proquest |
| Family and Society Plus |
Tips |
Issues about, or of relevance to families. Australia. Fulltext 2000 - present. Index 1980 - present This is Family database with selected fulltext added Informit |
| Health & Society Database (H&S) |
Tips |
Health policy services and issues. Australian. Subset of Family. 1980 - present Informit |
| HighWirePress |
Tips |
Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences. International Archive site, dates vary, latest issues usually embargoed. Stanford U. P. |
| Indigenous Studies Bibliography (AIATSIS) |
Tips |
Australian Indigenous studies. 1990 - present Informit |
| MAIS |
Tips |
Immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, multicultural education. Australian. 1988 - present Informit |
| Media Scan |
Tips |
Current events and news items. Australian focus. 1991 - present Informit |
| Pharmasource, see Dictionary of Drugs in ChemNetBase |
Drugs and pharmacological agents. International. Chapman and Hall/CRC |
|
| Philosopher's Index |
Tips |
Philosophy and related fields. International. 1940 - present Ovid. |
| Pubmed |
Tips |
Medicine. International. Free version of Medline, Premedline plus other content 1966 - present National Center for Biotechnology Information - U.S. National Library of Medicine. Please refer to the help before using this database |
| Rural and Remote Health Database (RURAL) |
Tips |
Rural and remote area health issues and care, and the practice and educational needs of health providers Australian 1966 - present Informit |
| SAI Global |
Tips |
Standards of Standards Australia plus index to standards of other bodies. Australian. Current and draft standards. International standards may be unlocked and made available. Preferred browser Internet Explorer Standards Australia website. |
| SCANfile |
Tips |
Science and technology policy, R&D management, social and economic issues of R&D. Australian focus. 1973 - present Informit |
| SourceOECD |
Tips |
OECD documents with emphasis on country comparison, periodicals, working papers, statistics, International Energy Agency statistics Source OECD Website |
| Web of Knowledge |
Tips |
Portal for Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, JCR Web Dates vary for each database ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Web of Science |
Tips |
Citation indexes, which allow searching by cited references. Science Citation Index, Social Science citation Index 1965 - present, Arts and Humanities Citation Index. 1975 - present ISI Web of Knowledge |
Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

Follow Me Printing
Everyone hates to queue. With this in mind, we have introduced Follow Me Printing. You can choose any free printer/copier in the Library or a printer in the Student Central labs to release your print job.
How does it work?


