Search
Borrow
Help
Information for
Information about
Databases for Creative Arts
- Databases to try first
- Other relevant databases
- Print indexes
- Additional databases for researchers
- Database passwords
- Database tips
| Databases to try first | ||
|---|---|---|
| Title | Tips | Notes |
| ABI/Inform Global |
Tips |
Business, management, including accounting, taxation, banking, labor relations, marketing & advertising, human resources. International. Dates vary Also available: ABI/Inform Trade and Industry or ABI/Inform Dateline Proquest |
Academic Onefile |
Tips |
The physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. International 1980 - present Gale |
| Academic Research Library |
Tips |
General reference including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. International. Dates vary Proquest |
| Art Abstracts (Wilson Art Abstracts) |
Tips |
Art. International. 1984 - present Ovid. |
| AustArt - Australian art journals index |
Tips |
Art and related subjects Australian AustArt website |
| AUSTLIT |
Tips |
Australian literature. Australian creative writing and Australian writers. From 1880s, comprehensive from 1988 - present Austlit website. |
| Australian Public Affairs - full text APAFT |
Tips |
Business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. APAIS with some fulltext. Australian. Index 1978 - present Fulltext 1995 - present Informit |
| Cambridge Journals Online |
Tips |
Sciences, social sciences, and humanities Cambridge journals website |
Classical Scores Library![]() |
Music scores for all areas of classical music Alexander street press |
|
Conference Proceedings Citation Index ![]() |
Tips | Conference papers and citations. Choose Science or Social Science and Humanities 1991- present ![]() Conditions of use Thomson Reuters |
| Current Contents Connect |
Tips |
Current information in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, technology and medical science. International. ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Duke University Press |
Tips |
Humanities and social sciences journals. International Dates vary, most from 2000 - present Duke website |
| Expanded Academic ASAP |
Tips |
General Database with information in arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. International. 1980 - present Gale InfoTrac |
| Factiva |
Tips |
Newspaper and company information Factiva Preferred browser Internet Explorer v. 5.5+, Firefox (Windows) and Safari (Macintosh). The site uses secure http. The certificate on the Library's EZproxy server can cause an error. If you are warned about a security error and recommended not to proceed it is OK to do so in this instance. It is possible with IE browsers to turn off the warning about certificate mismatches but it can be a valid warning, so take this option with care. |
Film Indexes Online ![]() ![]() |
Film reviews and film criticism. Film Index International, FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals and AFI Catalog together in one site. International Chadwyck-Healey |
|
| Humanities and Social Sciences Index - Retrospective |
Indexing for key journals in social sciences and humanities.
|
|
| Informaworld |
Tips |
Over 1000 journals in many disciplines. Strengths in Social Sciences and Humanities. International. |
International Encyclopedia of Communication ![]() |
Communication Studies. Extended explorations of major topics, short definitions of key terms. Media, psychology and IT aspects of communication. International Blackwell |
|
| JSTOR |
Tips |
Archives of significant scholarly journals published in the arts and humanities, sciences and social sciences, music, business, mathematics and statistics. JSTOR |
| Lexis.com |
Tips |
Legal resources. International law. Various dates Lexis |
| MLA International Bibliography |
Tips |
Literature, language, linguistics and folklore. International. 1926 - present Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. |
| Naxos Music Library |
Streaming music including classical, world music and other genres Naxos |
|
| New York Review of Books |
Tips |
Reviews of books and the arts, including music, theatre, dance and film and issues arising from them. 1963 - present NYRB website |
| Oxford Art Online |
Tips |
Art from all periods and areas. Art forms and cultures, movements artists and materials. International Oxford |
| Oxford Music Online |
Tips |
All aspects of music including all regions styles and periods with a strength in classical western music International Oxford |
| Oxford Reference Online |
Tips |
General reference, arts, history, business, sciences languages. Fulltext of dictionaries and other reference books. International. Various dates Oxford. |
| Project Muse |
Tips |
Literature & criticism, cultural studies, history, language, political science, film, theatre & performing arts, philosophy & religion. International. Various dates Project Muse website |
| Proquest ANZ Newstand |
Tips |
Newspapers and newswires from Australia and New Zealand covering regional and international topics Proquest. |
| Proquest Central |
Tips |
Information in most topic areas. Several databases which may be searched either individually or in combinations. International. Various dates Proquest.
|
| Proquest Newspapers | Tips |
International fulltext newspapers, not including Proquest ANZ Newsstand Proquest. |
| Proquest Research Library |
Tips |
Wide range of popular academic subjects Proquest. |
| RILM Abstracts of Music Literature |
Tips |
Musicology & ethnomusicology, music theory, analysis & composition, instruments, performance practice & notation. International. 1836 - present Ovid. |
|
|
Tips |
Virtually all journals published by SAGE. This publisher publishes in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. International SAGE Note: SAGE Journals Online includes the Nursing and Psychology collections which have been available on the CSA platform. These are still available on the CSA platform as well as on the SAGE platform |
Sydney Morning Herald Archives |
Full content of The Sydney Morning Herald 1955 - 1990 Fairfax Media Note: Click on "Access archive" |
|
| Web of Knowledge |
Tips |
Portal for Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, JCR Web Dates vary for each database ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Web of Science |
Tips |
Citation indexes, which allow searching by cited references. Science Citation Index, Social Science citation Index 1965 - present, Arts and Humanities Citation Index. 1975 - present ISI Web of Knowledge |
| Other relevant databases | ||
|---|---|---|
| Title | Tips | Notes |
| AIATSIS - Indigenous Studies Bibliography |
Tips |
Indigenous languages, cultures, anthropology, archaeology, health, education, arts, oral histories,history, legal issues. Australian. 1990 - present Informit |
| Australian Architecture Database (ARCH) |
Tips |
Architects, architecture, building, interior design and landscape architecture. Australian. 1980 - present Informit |
| Australian Bureau of Statistics |
Tips |
Statistical data of Australia, the States and smaller regions. ABS' full standard product range on-line. Australian. publications 1988 - present, with older time series This is a free site but there are some conditions of use specified on the ABS website ABS website |
| The Australian Chronicles: An Index to Sources of Australian Biography (CHRONICLES) |
Tips |
Biographical information. Australian. 1879 - present Informit |
| Australian Heritage Bibliography (AHB) |
Tips |
National parks; endangered species; coasts; forests; wetlands; rivers; geological features; wilderness areas; world heritage sites Australian. 1987 - present Informit |
| Australian Historic Records Register (AHRR) |
Tips |
A list of paper-based historical records held in private hands in Australia. 1788 - 1988. Informit |
| BERITA- Malaysia/Singapore/Brunei/ASEAN Database |
Tips |
General reference. Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore, or South-East Asia as a whole and ASEAN. 1990 - present Informit . |
| CLIB2001, CLIB96 & CLIB91 |
Tips | Statistics from Australian Bureau of Statistics. Stand alone CD ROM ask at Research Help. |
| Computer Database |
Tips |
Computer related news and product reviews. International. Current year to date plus previous three years Gale InfoTrac. |
| Media Scan |
Tips |
Current events and news items. Australian focus. 1991 - present Informit |
| Philosopher's Index |
Tips |
Philosophy and related fields. International. 1940 - present Ovid. |
| ProQuest Social Science Journals |
Tips |
Periodicals covering the social sciences. Dates vary Proquest |
| Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory |
Tips |
Periodicals and serials published throughout the world. International. Current
Bowkers. |
Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

Follow Me Printing
Everyone hates to queue. With this in mind, we have introduced Follow Me Printing. You can choose any free printer/copier in the Library or a printer in the Student Central labs to release your print job.
How does it work?



