Databases for Commerce

and

Databases for Sydney Business School

 

 Databases to try first
fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext icon = partial fulltext cd rom = CD ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link
Title Tips Notes
ABI/Inform Global partial fulltext icon Image Tips

Business, management, including accounting, taxation, banking, labor relations, marketing & advertising, human resources. International.

Dates vary

Also available: ABI/Inform Trade and Industry or ABI/Inform Dateline

more information

Conditions of use

Proquest

Academic Research Library partial fulltext icon Image Tips

General reference including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. International.

Dates vary

more information

Conditions of use

Proquest

Account  Image Tips

Accounting, auditing, taxation, insolvency, financial management, corporation law. Australian.

1982 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Accounting and Tax partial fulltext icon Image Tips

Accounting, auditing, and financial management. International.

1971 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Proquest

Annual Reports Online     Tips

Annual reports of all ASX listed and de-listed companies. Australian

1995 - present

Aspect Huntley

Australian Accounting & Taxation Database (AATD)    This database is now called Account. Please find it under that name
Australian Bureau of Statistics fulltext icon Image Tips

Statistical data of Australia, the States and smaller regions. ABS' full standard product range on-line. Australian.

publications 1988 - present, with older time series

more information

This is a free site but there are some conditions of use specified on the ABS website

ABS website

Australian Public Affairs - full text APAFT partial fulltext icon Image Tips

Business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. APAIS with some fulltext. Australian.

Index 1978 - present Fulltext 1995 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Business and Company ASAP     Tips

Companies, markets and industries; market trends, mergers and acquisitions, management theory and company overviews. International 1980 - present

Conditions of use

Gale

Business Monitor Online Image Image Tips

Country based industry reports, forecasts, alerts and analysis. Detailed economic, political and social coverage

Image

Conditions of use

Business Monitor

 Business Source Premier   Tips

Business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.

EBSCOhost

Business Who's Who of Australia fulltext icon Image Tips

Company information by specific industry, location, board members and other key personnel, parent and subsidiary companies,annual revenue, employee numbers, product trade names. Australian.

Current

more information

Conditions of use

Dun and Bradstreet webpage

Password required

Cambridge Journals Online Image Image Tips

Sciences, social sciences, and humanities

Image

Conditions of use

Cambridge journals website

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Tips

Portal site for CSA databases, some technical engineering, some social sciences.

Conditions of use

CSA

Columbia International Affairs Online - CIAO Image Image Tips

International affairs, comparative politics, area studies. International

Dates vary

Image

Conditions of use

CIAO website

Conference Proceedings Citation Index noquota Tips Conference papers and citations. Choose Science or Social Science and Humanities
1991- present
i2
Conditions of use
Thomson Reuters
Econlit Image Tips

Economics. International

1969 - present

Image

Conditions of use

Ovid

Emerald Fulltext fulltext icon Image Tips

Management, economics, marketing, logistics, training and education. International

Indexing 1989 fulltext 1994 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Emerald website

Expanded Academic ASAP partial fulltext icon Image Tips

General Database with information in arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. International.

1980 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Gale InfoTrac

Factiva Image Image Tips

Newspaper and company information

Image

Factiva

Preferred browser Internet Explorer v. 5.5+, Firefox (Windows) and Safari (Macintosh).

The site uses secure http. The certificate on the Library's EZproxy server can cause an error. If you are warned about a security error and recommended not to proceed it is OK to do so in this instance. It is possible with IE browsers to turn off the warning about certificate mismatches but it can be a valid warning, so take this option with care. 

 FinAnalysis    Tips

A 12-year history of detailed financial information for all companies listed on ASX.

Aspect Huntley

General Business File    Tips

Company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available. International

1980 - present

Conditions of use

Gale

Hoover's Company Records Image Tips

Company data and brief financial data, known as company capsules and profiles.

Image

Conditions of use

Proquest

Informaworld Image Image Tips

Over 1000 journals in many disciplines. Strengths in Social Sciences and Humanities. International.

Image

Conditions of use

JSTOR Image Image Tips

Archives of significant scholarly journals published in the arts and humanities, sciences and social sciences, music, business, mathematics and statistics.

Image

Conditions of use

JSTOR

Lexis.com Image Image Tips

Legal resources. International law.

Various dates

more information

Lexis

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
ImageImage
 

Economics including the schools of economic theory, sub-disciplines and related areas

Image
 
Palgrave Macmillan

OneSource Global Business Browser - G4 Image Tips

Very extensive industry and company resource

International, global not just Asia Pacific

More information
onesource information
OneSource Information Services

Oxford Scholarship Online Image Image Tips

Electronic Books from Oxford University Press. The Library subscribes to the Economics and Finance module. International.

Various dates.

Image

Conditions of use

Oxford

Oxresearch Image Image Tips

A "first draft of history" as it occurs. Provides succinct analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance

1986 - present

Conditions of use

Proquest

Proquest ANZ Newstand partial fulltext icon Image Tips

Newspapers and newswires from Australia and New Zealand covering regional and international topics

Image

Conditions of use

Proquest.

Proquest Central partial fulltext icon Image

 

Tips

Information in most topic areas. Several databases which may be searched either individually or in combinations. International.

Various dates

more information

Conditions of use

Proquest.

SAGE Journals Online    

 

Tips

Virtually all journals published by SAGE. This publisher publishes in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

International

SAGE Note: SAGE Journals Online includes the Nursing and Psychology collections which have been available on the CSA platform. These are still available on the CSA platform as well as on the SAGE platform

ScienceDirect Image Image Tips

Life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. International.

1995 - present, some earlier

more information

Conditions of use

ScienceDirect website

Snapshot series Image Image Tips

International market research overviews by industry within within regions and countries.

Conditions of use

Proquest

SourceOECD Image Tips

OECD documents with emphasis on country comparison, periodicals, working papers, statistics, International Energy Agency statistics

Image

Conditions of use

Source OECD Website

Springerlink Image Image Tips

Journal of the publisher Springer-Verlag. International with strengths in Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical & Life Sciences, Business & Economics, Chemistry & Material Science, Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences & Law, Mathematics, Medicine, and Physics & Astronomy.

Dates vary

Image

Conditions of use

Springerlink

Sydney Morning Herald Archives      

Full content of The Sydney morning Herald

1955 - 1990

Faifax Media

Note: click on "Access archive"

Web of Knowledge Image Tips

Portal for Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, JCR Web

Dates vary for each database

more information

Conditions of use

ISI Web of Knowledge

Web of Science Image Tips

Citation indexes, which allow searching by cited references. Science Citation Index, Social Science citation Index 1965 - present, Arts and Humanities Citation Index. 1975 - present

more information

Conditions of use

ISI Web of Knowledge

Wiley Interscience fulltext icon Image Tips

Journals published by Wiley, including sciences, life sciences, technology, business and finance and behavioural sciences. International.

Dates vary according to title

more information

Conditions of use

Wiley

World Development Indicators fulltext icon Image    

World Bank's comprehensive database on development data, covering more than 700 indicators, 208 economies, and 18 regional and income groups. Includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years.

1960 - present, where data are available

more information

World Bank

top of page

 Other relevant databases
fulltext icon = fulltext partial fulltext icon = partial fulltext cd rom = CD ROM new = new resource more information = more information Image = quota free if accessed by this link
Title Tips Notes
AIM Management & Training (AIMMAT) Image Tips

Management, training, human resources, communication and marketing. Australian.

1991 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Attorney-General's Information Service (AGIS) Plus Text partial fulltext icon Image Tips

Law, including administrative law, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright, criminal law, environmental law, family law. Australian.

Indexing 1975 - present Fulltext 1999 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

AUSTLII fulltext icon Image Tips

Law, legislation and case law. Australia. Commonwealth and state jurisdictions plus New Zealand and South Pacific.

Starting dates vary

more information

Conditions of use

AustLII website.

Banking Information Source partial fulltext icon Image Tips

Business, finance, government and law. International, North American focus.

1971 - present, fulltext may be later

more information

Conditions of use

Proquest

CCH Online fulltext icon Image Tips

Law. Fulltext access to UOW subscriptions only. Australian.

Availability dates vary

more information

Conditions of use

CCH website

CLIB2001, CLIB96 & CLIB91 Image Tips Statistics from Australian Bureau of Statistics. Stand alone CD ROM ask at Research Help.
Current Contents Connect Image Tips

Current information in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, technology and medical science. International.

more information

Conditions of use

ISI Web of Knowledge

ERIC Image Tips

Education. International.

1966 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Ovid

ERIC Image Tips

Education. International.

Dates vary

Image

Conditions of use

Proquest

Family and Society Plus Image Image Tips

Issues about, or of relevance to families. Australia.

Fulltext 2000 - present. Index 1980 - present

This is Family database with selected fulltext added

Image

Conditions of use

Informit

Lexis.com Image Image Tips

Legal resources. International law.

Various dates

more information

Lexis

LexisNexis AU Image Image Tips

Law including administrative, corporate, family, intellectual property,civil and industrial law. Australian.

Current

Recommended browser: IE

Conditions of use

LexisNexis AU

Malaysia/Singapore/Brunei/ ASEAN Database (BERITA) Image Tips

General reference. Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore, or South-East Asia as a whole and ASEAN.

1990 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Media Scan Image Tips

Current events and news items. Australian focus.

1991 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

NBER Working Papers Image Tips

Economics and economic aspects of industrial relations, education, health and related subjects. International

1994 - present

Image

NBER

Philosopher's Index Image Tips

Philosophy and related fields. International.

1940 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Ovid.

Proquest Asian Business & Reference partial fulltext icon Image Tips

Detailed information on companies, economies, markets and overall business conditions, news and current awareness, country information, cultural, government and biographical information relating to Asia.

A greatly expanded resource

more information

Conditions of use

Proquest

Proquest European Business partial fulltext icon Image Tips

Regional European business news.

1986 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Proquest.

ProQuest Social Science Journals partial fulltext icon Image Tips

Periodicals covering the social sciences.

Dates vary

more information

Conditions of use

Proquest

Psycinfo 1806- , 1967- , 1985- Image Tips

Psychology and related disciplines. International.

1806 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Ovid

Safari Tech Books Online Image Image Tips

Computing, networks, web, applications, security. books from several key publishers.

Usually latest editions

more information

Conditions of use

Safari Proquest

SCANfile Image Tips

Science and technology policy, R&D management, social and economic issues of R&D. Australian focus.

1973 - present

more information

Conditions of use

Informit

Sociological Abstracts Image Tips

Sociology and related disciplines. International.

1952 - present Records after 1974 include abstracts

more information

Conditions of use

CSA.

top of page

 

Content by: Electronic Services Librarian

Last reviewed: 11 November, 2009

       

Library sticky region image

Follow Me Printing

Everyone hates to queue. With this in mind, we have introduced Follow Me Printing. You can choose any free printer/copier in the Library or a printer in the Student Central labs to release your print job.

How does it work?