Understanding archives
What are archives?
The non-current records of an organisation, institution or individual that
have been selected for preservation because they have enduring value.
- Non-current - no longer part of present day/current usage
- Records - can be in a range of forms (see below)
- Selected - by the:
- creator
- current owner
- archivist
- Preservation - either:
- permanent
- subject to reassessment after a certain period
- Enduring value - for either:
- individuals
- organisations
- society
The term 'Archives' is also used to describe:
- a place where archival material is kept
- an organisation responsible for archival material
top of page
What form can records take?
- Manuscripts - documents that have been handwritten or typed but
not printed (eg. letters, diaries, literary works, memorandums, registers,
ledgers)
- Printed publications (eg. books, booklets, reports, newsletters,
maps)
- Ephemera - material designed for a specific purpose/event and then
likely to be discarded (eg. posters, pamphlets, theatre programs, exhibition
catalogues)
- Images (eg. films, photographs, paintings, sketches)
- Audio recordings (eg. music, oral histories)
- Artefacts (eg. medals, banners, firearms)
top of page
What's the difference between archives and primary sources?
Although archival records predominantly consist of primary sources, they may also comprise some secondary source material.
For example, the personal archives of an academic may include their
letters and diaries, as well as books etc. they have published about
their research area.
Definition of primary and secondary sources
Primary sources
Records that provide firsthand accounts or evidence of historical
events or experiences. Primary source material can be published (eg. reports, autobiographies,
interviews in contemporary newspapers) and/or unpublished (eg. original letters, diaries,
papers held within an archive).
Secondary sources
Secondhand accounts of historical events or experiences, which analyse and interpret
the relevant primary sources. Secondary source material (eg. books, textbooks, journal
articles) is usually written at a much later time after the event.
Note: You may also find primary source material reproduced
within a secondary source, such as a documentary history or a biography.
[The above definitions have been modelled on those provided on the Library
of Congress’ Historian's Sources web guide.]
top of page
Where can I find archives?
- Official archival repositories (eg. National Archives of Australia,
State Records NSW)
- Libraries (eg. National Library of Australia, NSW State Library,
University of Wollongong Archives)
- Museums and galleries (eg. Australian War Memorial)
- Historical societies and family history societies (eg. Illawarra
Family History Group)
- Private collections (ie. individual collectors)
- With the organisation or person who actually created the records (eg. BHP
Archives, Anglican Church Archives)
top of page
How do I access archives?
In mostl cases you need to visit the archives in person. Usually you
must request access in advance.
Collections are not arranged on open shelves for browsing like books
in libraries. They are usually kept in a secure storage area because of
their irreplaceable value and/or fragile physical condition. Archives staff
will retrieve the specific records you wish to view.
Not all collections may have been fully catalogued, so accessing their
contents can often be a slow and difficult process.
Steps for making archives accessible
- Acquisition of the material
- Preliminary listing (a brief title description of the collection as a whole,
and the type of contents)
- Placement in archival boxes etc. for safe, long term keeping
- Concise listing or inventory (a detailed description of the collection's
individual contents). Often this listing is compiled at a much later stage,
as staff time permits
- Promotion/advertising that the material is held in the archives.
Online access to archives
What can I find online?
Many archives provide some type of listing on their web site about
the collections they hold. The level of detail included within these
listings varies from one archive to another.
Certain archives have begun digitising examples of original
texts, documents and pictures in their collections, so you can view the
fulltext and images of these online.
What can't I find online?
Archives cannot provide detailed information on their web site
about all of their holdings. If something is not mentioned on the
Web that does not mean it does not exist.
For additional sources
of information you need to consult published guides, printed lists
and card catalogues etc., and most importantly check with archives staff.
In most cases you still need to visit archives in person to access their collections.
top of page
Tips on using archives in your research
Use the Primary sources and archives
worksheet [PDF file] - This shows how to plan each stage of your search.
Also use the Search strategy keywords
worksheet [PDF file] - This shows how to brainstorm keywords for your
topic.
top of page
Acknowledgement
Sections of the information in the above guide have been adapted from
the Understanding and Using Archives guide on the Archives of Australia web site
|
|