UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
UOW Archives
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Skip navigation
Sitemap
 
 
 

Historical primary sources

What are primary sources?

Primary sources

Records that provide firsthand accounts or evidence of historical events or experiences. Primary source material can be published (eg. reports, autobiographies, interviews in contemporary newspapers) or unpublished (eg. original letters, diaries, papers held within an archive).

Note: You might also find primary source material reproduced within a secondary source, such as a documentary history or a biography.

Secondary sources

Secondhand accounts of historical events or experiences, which analyse and interpret the relevant primary sources. Secondary source material (eg. books, textbooks, journal articles) is usually written at a much later time after the event.

[Above definitions modelled on those from the Library of Congress’ Historian's Sources web guide.]

top of page

What else do I need to know about finding primary sources?

Put your topic into its historical context

Before you start your search for primary sources, ask yourself if you have enough background information (names of people, places, events, dates etc.) to help you identify relevant primary sources. If not, then first you need to check some secondary sources. eg. an historical encyclopaedia

Remember to mind your language!

When searching for primary or contemporary sources from earlier eras think about words that may have been used at that time to describe particular issues. eg. you may not find the phrase "women's liberation" mentioned in publications before the 1960s, so instead you need to look for phrases like "women's rights" or "women's suffrage".

To help make your searching easier use the Finding Primary Sources and Archives worksheet

top of page

Searching the Web

Some libraries, archives and museums have begun digitising examples of original texts, documents and pictures in their collections, so you can view the fulltext and/or images of these on their web sites. For example:

top of page

Searching the Library Catalogue

The Library holds a wide range of published documentary histories, autobiographies etc. Many older titles can be difficult to find due to their broad subject headings. Try searching the Library Catalogue using the different types of terms shown below.

Some general tips

Use the * truncation symbol to broaden your search to find variations of a particular word. For example: keyword> australia and coloni* (finds colonial, colonialism, colonies, colonisation, colonization, etc.)

Think about the broader terms or phrases that describe your subject area. When you find a book look at the subject headings used to describe it. These may provide other useful terms to search. For example: subject> great britain colonies

For Australian primary sources try searching on both the word australia* and the names of the individual states and territories. For example: keyword> new south wales and history

Autobiographies, diaries and letters

To find autobiographical accounts of events use a Keyword search on the Catalogue and try adding terms such as:

  • biograph* (finds biography, biographies or biographical)
  • autobiograph* (finds autobiography, autobiographies or autobiographical)
  • narrative* (finds personal narratives or narrative account)

For example: keyword> war* and narrative*

If the above keywords do not produce results try more specific terms such as:

  • diar* (finds diary or diaries)
  • letter* (finds letter or letters)
  • correspondence
  • memoir* (finds memoir or memoirs)
  • travel* (finds travel writings or travelers' account)
  • notebook* (finds notebook or notebooks)

For example: keyword> women* and diar*

For more sources of biographical information check the Biographies guide.

Oral histories

To find transcripts or recordings of oral histories use a Keyword search on the Catalogue and try adding terms such as:

  • oral histor* (finds oral history or oral histories)
  • interview* (finds interview or interviews)
  • reminisc* (finds reminiscences)
  • recollect* (finds recollections)

For example: keyword> war* and interview*

You can also check the Archives' collection of local oral history recordings.

top of page

Historical documents (including government reports)

To find books containing official documents, reports, historic news items etc., use a Keyword search on the Catalogue and try adding terms such as:

  • source* (finds sources, sourcebook, primary sources)
  • document* (finds documents, documentary history, documentary account)
  • record* and histor* (finds historic records or historical records)
  • report* (finds report, royal commission report)
  • speeches
  • facsim* (finds facsim., facsimiles, facsimile reproduction)
  • reprint* and histor* (finds historical reprints)

For example: keyword> australia* and histor* and document*

Government Publications

To find other sources of government primary source documents check the:

Examples of documentary history books

Titles listed below are held in the Main Lending Collection (Level 1):

Title

Call number

Australia's Women: A Documentary History

305.420994/22

Freedom Bound: Documents on Women in Colonial Australia

305.420994/44

The Struggle for Aboriginal Rights: A Documentary History

323.119915/27

Documents on Australian Foreign Policy 1937-49 (multivolume set)

327.94/8

Australian Trade Unionism in Documents

331.880994/42

Australian Labor History in Documents (3 volumes)

335.00994/3

Select Documents in Australian Education, 1788-1900

370.994/2

Documents on the Establishment of Education in New South Wales, 1789-1880

370.9944/12

Historic Documents of World War 1

940.3/26

Historic Documents of World War 11

940.3508/1

Documents and Readings in the History of Europe Since 1918

940.5/19

History Of South-East, South And East Asia: Essays And Documents

950/22

Select Documents in Australian History (Clark)

994/3

Modern Australia in Documents (Crowley) (2 volumes)

994.04/2

A Documentary History of Australia (Crowley) (multivolume set)

994.04/2A

Historical Records of New South Wales (multivolume set)

994.4/59

Historical Records of Victoria (multivolume set)

994.502/8

top of page

Newspapers

The Library has access to many older/historical Australian newspapers, as well as several overseas newspapers, in a range of formats (online, microfilm and/or hard copy). For details see the Historical Newspapers guide.

Photographs and other images

To find books with pictorial coverage of historical eras or events use a Keyword search on the Catalogue and try adding terms such as:

  • photo** (finds photographs, photographic)
  • pict** (finds pictures, pictorial works)
  • ill** (finds illustrated, illustrations)
  • image* (finds images)

For example: keyword> sydney and histor* and pict**

Examples of online image collections

top of page

Need help?

Contact Research Help staff.

 

 

Content by: Archivist

 
 

University of Wollongong Library
Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548

CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback