UOW
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
UOW Archives
Site Search
Advanced Search  
Skip navigation
Sitemap
 
 
 

Help guides

Need help? Check the guides and worksheets for frequently asked question below:

What are archives?

See the Understanding about archives guide - This explains more about both 'archives' and 'primary sources'.

How do I find primary sources/archives relating to my topic?

a) Start with the Finding historical primary sources guide. This has search tips and links to resources. Plus ...

b) Use the Primary sources and archives worksheet [PDF file] - This helps you map what you might need when searching for your own topic.

c) Use the Archives' Search strategy keywords worksheet [PDF file] - This helps you brainstorm search terms for your topic.

How do I check what's held in the UOW Archives?

See the Searching the UOW Archives Collections guide.

Where can I find other archives?

See the Finding archives guide - This has links to many other archives and libraries around Australia.

How do I find old newspapers?

See the Historical newspapers guide - This has search tips and details on specific newspapers.

How do I cite primary sources/archives?

See the Citing archival material guide.

top of page

How do I find historical information about the University of Wollongong?

See the UOW history, facts and figures research guide.

How do I find primary sources about Australian Education?

See the History of Australian education and welfare guide

How do I find primary sources about Australian women?

See the Australian women's history guide

Does the Archives hold anything on local mining disasters?

Start with the Library's Disasters guide - This lists details of primary sources for several major accidents in the Illawarra.

Does the Archives hold anything for family history?

Start with the Library's Biographies guide - This has search tips and links for biographical and genealogical information sources

 

 

Content by: Archivist

 
 

University of Wollongong Library
Wollongong NSW 2522 Australia
Telephone +61 2 4221 3548

CRICOS Provider No: 00102E
Privacy, Disclaimer and Copyright Info
Feedback