| |
Finding archives
What can I find online?
Many archives provide some type of listing on their web site about
the collections they hold. The level of detail included within these
listings varies from one archive to another.
Certain archives have begun digitising examples of original
texts, documents and pictures in their collections, so you can view the
fulltext and images of these online.
What can't I find online?
Archives cannot provide detailed information on their web site
about all of their holdings. If something is not mentioned on the
Web that does not mean it does not exist.
For additional sources
of information you need to consult published guides, printed lists
and card catalogues etc., and most importantly check with archives staff.
In most cases you still need to visit archives in person to access their collections.
top of page
Locating a specific archive
To locate the archive or library of a specific organisation (eg. BHP) try the following directories:
top of page
Finding archives
To search for archival material relating to particular people or organisations etc. try the sites shown below.
Subject based gateways
The following sites focus on major archives in particular subject
areas available at different institutions. Many also
provide biographical and historical information about related individuals and organisations.
top of page
In the Illawarra
top of page
In New South Wales
Specific institutions:
Combined catalogues:
top of page
Around Australia
Specific institutions:
Combined catalogues:
top of page
In other countries
top of page
Microform archival collections
Some archival records have been reproduced on microfilm/microfiche
to make them more widely available for research in national and
state libraries etc. Examples of such publishers include:
top of page
Need further help?
Contact the Archivist or Research Help staff.
|
|
|
|
Revised:
11-Aug-2008 11:06
:: Content by: Archivist |